A gift guide

There’s no denying that some ethical websites (and their products) can be a bit… weird. I love the sentiment behind them, but I know that my teenage nieces and nephews (not to mention my older relatives) won’t be too appreciative if they open a pair of tie-died socks made from untreated wool (or something of that ilk) come Christmas morning.

The good news is that there is now a plethora of great ethical websites which stock some really, really great stuff.

And because I’m nice, I’ve done all the hard work for you. Below is a list (broken down into categories – don’t say I don’t spoil you) listing some of the best ethical websites out there.

Happy Christmas (for everyone once you make your Christmas purchases…).

*******

For mums/grannies/aunts…

These guys are a BRILLIANT one-stop shop for ethical gifts: jewellery, accessories, homeware. AND they do a great (and bizarre) selection of fair trade food. Because nothing says ‘Happy Christmas’ like fair trade chutney.

img_20160908_162051
How gorgeous are these tea lights? Yours for only £6 in the Tradecraft sale. What are you waiting for?
img_20160908_161743
And fair trade artisan handkerchiefs, hand made in India! Who knew?

Beautiful clothes and scarfs. Think a cross between Joules and Boden. Stylish and simple. And ethical.

For dads/granddads/uncles…

Another tricky category – is it just a man thing? Last year I found an amazing website for men called ‘Nigel’s Eco Store’ (don’t judge it by the name). However they’re apparently redeveloping their business and not currently online. But here’s a couple of others:

100% of their profits go into wildlife conservation, so if you’ve got a gardening/outdoor loving relative, why not take a look at their online shop?

I cannot enthuse enough about this company. Not only do they sell incredibly chic candles and soaps (in the most beautifully presented boxes which, ahem, look like you’ve spent a fortune) they also do a rather stylish shaving set and a fantastic box of ethical spices (this was last year’s present for my brother in law, along with a cook book. I know. I am the queen of gift giving). Present for the older man in your life? Tick.

img_20160908_161923
They also do tote bags. I defy you to find one more chic.

For teenage sons/nephews/godsons/surprise younger brothers…

For me this is THE trickiest category out there. I don’t care what you say, boys are REALLY hard to buy for. Recent years saw me approach birthdays with apprehension and I usually ended up scurrying to an independent local bookstore and buying them A Book. Which is fine. If you don’t mind being the aunt/godmother/older sibling who Always Buys Books. Which you may not. And that’s fine too. Ahem.

However, I’ve finally found a couple (and only a couple, mind) of non-book solutions. You’re welcome:

Noticing a huge gap in the market, this ‘lifestyle brand’ was set up by Gary Barlow and Jason Donovan’s wives. It’s a tad pricey, but all the product are ethical and mostly sourced from the UK. And most importantly, it strikes me as reasonably cool.

Say what you will about Boden, it does have a pretty good ethical policy. They are by no means totally there, but from my (limited) research they do seem to be committed to improving things throughout production. And they’re reasonably cool. No, we’re no talking Jack Wills, but having a Boden T-shirt isn’t tantamount to social death. Also, if you sign up to their newsletter, they send you £10 vouchers with free P&P with alarming regularity so if you’re savvy, they don’t have to be too expensive either.

For teenage daughters/nieces/surprise younger sisters…

This is a much easier category. Jewellery, toiletries, bags… and there’s a HUGE selection out there. Here’s a couple of sites to get you started:

People Tree are the pioneers of sustainable fashion, but they’re also up there as among the coolest. Think ethical Topshop and you’ll be on track. Their jewellery and accessories are also fab (and won’t break the bank. Win.).

This website is a recent discovery and one I confess I’ve yet to actually purchase anything from. I originally looked for myself and realised that their abundance of cropped tops and mini skirts were probably more suited to my nieces. Dare I say an ethical Jack Wills? Just without the profusion of pink and blue stripes…

For younger children

Lots of ethical toys and ethical footballs (who knew?), but also great for party bags and small presents to add to your present drawer for those emergency ‘But it’s James’ birthday party tomorrow – did you forget?’ moments…

They have a good selection of fair trade and ethical baby toys. After all, what child doesn’t want a fair trade crocheted octopus?

img_20160908_191246
Here’s ours. We call her Octavia. Obviously.

For yourself (er… if you’re a girl. Like me.)

My birthday is in December. You know, the same month as Jesus. And usually around the 29th November every year my husband will suddenly panic and realise that he has to buy not one but TWO lots of presents for his wife. Whose love language is presents.

After 8 years of marriage (well done us) I’ve realised that if I want something a) substantial (materialistic, moi?) and b) I actually like, my husband needs a little bit of guidance in this area. So I’ve given him the following websites and told him that I’ll probably love pretty much anything from them. No more crying from me, no more guilt from him and lives changed (both ours and the people who, you know, actually make this stuff). In fact this worked so well that he TOOK THE INITIATIVE for our wedding anniversary earlier this year, found another ethical website HIMSELF and ordered a gorgeous tote bag for me. I know. Give a man a fish and all that…

If you’ve never heard of this brand, stop reading this blog and go take a look. Seriously. Their stuff is a delight. Stylish. Original. And, most importantly, change-making for local artisans. Now go.

I love this company so much that I held a freedom party (like a tupperware party, just without the tupperware). Their bunting adorns my kitchen walls and one of their recycled sari throws is draped over my sofa. Fabulous.

img_20160908_161812
This bunting is made from recycled saris by former sex-workers. I can’t tell you how happy it makes me every time I look at it.

And finally, presents for teachers/secret Santas/to have on standby for the random person who turn up and announces it’s her birthday…

There’s nothing wrong with toiletries. Especially ones that come in a cute little box, only cost £6 and have a positive impact on the environment. Have a few of these squirrelled away, and you never again fear the words ‘secret santa’…

******

So they’re my thoughts. Anyone else have some top ethical websites they’d care to share? Comment below!